My Favorite Holiday Tradition

Hello all!

It’s been a while, and so much has happened in the past few months. My golden passed away in late August after being sick off and on for that month. I’ve been trying to put myself back together since then and writing has not been on the radar.  I debated whether or not I would blog again, but I do miss the creative outlet so here I am.

On a much happier note, my sister visited this past weekend for our Annual Vaughn Sisters Shopping Trip. It’s so fabulous it deserves to be capitalized! We started doing this a few years ago to wrap up last minute shopping and spend some time together. Originally we would meet in Fredericksburg, Virginia–the halfway point between our homes. Last year we updated the tradition, and Sara spent the weekend at my house so we could have even more shopping time. We did the same thing this year and had a blast! We shopped, laughed, ate too much, and stayed up late together. This tradition is probably my favorite part of Christmas.

Getting started on Saturday morning!

Getting started on Saturday morning!

Our favorite sushi at Ichiban.

Our favorite sushi at Ichiban.

There's always room for fro yo! Taking a quick break at Sweet Frog.

There’s always room for fro yo! Taking a quick break at Sweet Frog.

We shopped at Premium Outlets in Williamsburg on Friday night. Then we hit all the other little stops on Saturday. There aren’t a lot of grocery choices in Luray, so my sister likes to stock up at Trader Joe’s when she comes to Williamsburg. We were in for a treat–live music! This guy sang one of my holiday favorites: Grandma Got Runover by a Reindeer!

Live Christmas music at Trader Joe's.

Live Christmas music at Trader Joe’s.

I was sad to see her leave on Sunday, but I will be home in Luray in just a few days to celebrate Christmas with my family.  After sis hit the road, I spent the rest of the evening recuperating. Shopping can really wear you out!

Putting my feet up and enjoying the tree!

Putting my feet up and enjoying the tree!

 

Hope you all had a great weekend!

 

xo, dCv

One thought on “My Favorite Holiday Tradition

Leave a Reply

