Rock the Vote!

Happy Election Day, y’all! I hope everyone got out and exercised their right  to vote today.

It’s only Tuesday but already this has been a crazy week. Between voting, work, activities, trying to prepare for Thanksgiving, 2-count ’em 2!-new Real Housewives premieres, and just keeping up in general it feels like it should definitely be Thursday already. The Real Housewives  reality shows scripted dramas are my guilty pleasure. Sure, it looks fun to have all of that money and free time in which to go spend it, but sheesh, all these women have is drama. I wouldn’t trade my happy little life for any of theirs, and I think I probably enjoy watching it because it’s a constant reminder that money won’t buy you happiness. And I don’t know about you, but I sometimes need that reminder!

So on to my outfit for the day! It was pretty chilly here when I woke up. I had this fun, patriotic, red, white, and blue outfit all planned out. Except that when I put it on it just.did.not.work. AT ALL. Each piece was cute separately and in theory it would have worked but when I put it on I just wasn’t feelin’ it. But I have been dying to wear this purple dress.

Dress, Land’s End; Cardigan, Banana Republic; Leather boots, Banana Republic Factory Store; Scarf, Target.

Purple is and has always been my favorite color. I knew I loved it when I was 5 years old. I bought this dress from Land’s End last year and it’s such a dark purple that it looked blah with anything except a gray jacket or sweater. That is, until I got this awesome mustard cardigan. Mustard yellow is not my color, but I love the contrast it makes with so many of my staple colors–purple included. This scarf has both colors in it, so it helps to tie it together. And since I figured I would probably NOT get a sweet parking spot at the polls I added my comfy leather boots.

Love this scarf!

The dress is pretty plain all by itself. Once I added the cardigan, there was no waistline in sight so I cinched it with this brown leather belt from Gap Outlet ( can you tell I love my trips to the Outlet/Factory stores?!). I cinch a lot of my dresses and more voluminous blouses to give them more shape.

Below, the hot accessory of the day:

My “I Voted” sticker! This was actually my first sticker, as I have always voted absentee ballot in advance. I was really looking forward to getting this thing!!!

Now we just have to wait for the election outcome….So I want to know, what did you wear to cast your vote today? Tell me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Rock the Vote!

  1. I love the scarf!! You always put together colors that I would never think of and they look so good. I like the outfit pics, keep posting them. And I wore a black sweater, Jeans, Brbrown plaid burberry scarf and black Jessica Simpson flats, compliments of, who else, you hehe

Leave a Reply

